Governor Abbott has decided to NOT have a special election to replace Congressman John Ratcliffe, who was appointed by President Trump to be the new DNI Director.

Because of his appointment, this leaves Texas Congressional District 4’s seat empty. It will sit empty until January 2021.

Instead, there will be a “special election” on August 8th to replace Ratcliffe on the November ballot. The only people who will be allowed to vote for Ratcliffe’s replacement are the County Chairs of District 4 and the Precinct Chairs of District 4.

The 18 counties in district 4 are:

Bowie County
Camp County
Cass County
Collin County (partial)
Delta County
Fannin County
Franklin County
Grayson County
Hopkins County
Hunt County
Lamar County
Marion County
Morris County
Rains County
Red River County
Rockwall County
Titus County
Upshur County (partial)